This foundation has led to other important agreements, including the Sanarrutik Partnership Agreement and the Peace of the Braves, both massive economic development agreements that make Inuit and Cree partners in decision-making and benefit sharing. Ontario is covered by more than 40 treaties and agreements with Aboriginal communities. The following year, the Quebec government negotiated the necessary agreement. On November 15, 1974 – exactly one year after the Supreme Court`s decision – an agreement in principle was signed between the governments of Canada, Quebec, Hydro-Qu├ębec`s public property, the Grand Council of Crees, led by Billy Diamond and the Inuit Association of Northern Quebec. [1] The final agreement – the James Bay And Northern Quebec Agreement – was signed on November 11, 1975. This agreement initially extended only to the claims of Quebec Cree and the Inuit; On January 31, 1978, the Naskapi of Quebec signed a parallel agreement – the Northeast Quebec Agreement – and joined the institutions created under the 1975 Agreement. The Archives of Ontario contains one of two original copies of the James Bay contract document of 1905-06 and the document signed for treaty adhesions in 1929-30. With the written agreement, the treaty commissioners made oral commitments to Anishinaabe and Omushkegowuk. In 2008-2010, INAC provided $2,367,400 to the Avataq Cultural Institute for tuition and educational funding agreements, in particular the Post-Secondary Assistance Program (PSSSP) and the Cultural Centres and Education Centres Program.

When the government refused to address the problem and insisted on dam construction, Cree and the IQA partnered with the Northern Quebec Inuit Association (NQIA). In November 1972, they filed a lawsuit to slow down the project and force the province to negotiate. Their main argument was that the land transfer agreements for James Bay and northern Quebec, concluded in 1898 and 1912 respectively, declared a commitment to negotiate the surrender of land rights. The Quebec government, which had little interest in its northern territories before 1960, did not consider it necessary to meet this obligation. The James Bay Treaty (Treaty 9) is an agreement between Ojibway (Anishinaabe), Cree (including omushkegowuk) and other Aboriginal nations (Algonquin) and the Crown (represented by two Canadian-appointed commissioners and one Commissioner appointed by Ontario). The contract, first concluded in 1905-06, covers the James Bay and Hudson Bay basins in Ontario, or about two-thirds of the province`s total land mass. The treaty embodies the relationship between First Nations and the Crown. On June 18, 2009, a new five-year funding agreement was concluded for the eeyou-Eenou police.

This agreement is the result of the negotiation and revision of Complementary Agreement 19, which amended Section 19 JBNQA. The new agreement will allow at least 70 police officers to patrol cree communities. A treaty is a formal agreement between two or more nations on the sharing of land and resources and coexistence in peace and friendship.